• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

New trumpet

View previous topic :: View next topic  
thomasjet123

PostPosted: Sat Feb 17, 2018 10:37 am    Post subject: New trumpet Reply with quote

Hi all

I am needing some help in deciding a new trumpet that I can use as I have little experience in good, quality trumpets. Here's some background information about me and my situation that could help your answers.

I'm a 17 year old cornet player and have been playing for 12 years. I have passed my grade 8 (with merit) and am working on my ATCL diploma. I play at county level in the Derbyshire city and county youth wind band. I also play in many bands in and out of school including a 1st section brass band, wind bands and jazz bands. Currently I have a standard cornet (Yamaha YCR4330GII) and a really bad trumpet that we purchase off a friend of a friend for less than £100 (probably a Chinese import as it doesn't even have a model or make).

I do intend on continuing with my playing throughout my life and for me to improve I will need to upgrade both instruments. The first instrument I would need to upgrade is my trumpet, however I don't know which brand or model would be best for my situation. I would like to use this instrument in jazz bands and wind bands and hopefully be able to use this for the rest of my life (so it needs to be reliable). The budget for this instrument in no more than £2000.

Please can you all suggest some good and reliable trumpets that I could try and consider purchasing.

Thank you for any help
Thomas
cyber_shake
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Sat Feb 17, 2018 11:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Thomas,

Glad to hear of your progress and success! Keep it up and enjoy music for your life.