• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Arban's for beginners?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Fundamentals
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Raazait

PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2018 9:56 am    Post subject: Arban's for beginners? Reply with quote

Hey all,

I am a classically trained pianist, and have been playing for over 10 years. Recently, I've picked up the trumpet, and would like to use it to help explore other styles, namely jazz. I've heard a lot about the Arban's book, and how it affected many horn players internationally. I was wondering if purchasing Arban's would be appropriate for my beginner skill level, and the style I'd like to learn. Thanks.
Pete
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2018 10:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Arban's book is comprehensive in that it starts from beginner and goes to advanced rather quickly. I have used it along with other books such as Clarke's Tech. Studies, Colin Lip Flexibilities, Irons, etc. over the years, along with my students.

The best thing to do is take a few trumpet lessons with someone who can steer you in the right direction for what you want to accomplish.

Pete
Croquethed
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2018 10:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Arban's may help you master the technical skills needed to play the trumpet, which might help you play jazz if you are familiar with theory through the piano.
Tpt_Guy
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2018 11:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Arban method advances pretty quickly and doesn't really spend a lot of time on ridumentary exercises. It's not really a good method (in my opinion) for self teaching. Arban was Professor of Cornet at the Paris Conservatory, and his method reflects that.