• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

I need help to recovery from pressure playing :(

Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Tiago Markus

PostPosted: Fri Mar 30, 2018 5:34 pm    Post subject: I need help to recovery from pressure playing :( Reply with quote

I will try to make this as objective as possible.
I started learning the trumpet a year and a half ago, my grandpa was my teacher. At onde point, when i was trying to go up in the scale, i somehow started using pressure to play the higher notes(the strong arm way). It went unnoticed, because my grandpa is a really impatient man, he didn't gave me the proper atention when i was practicing. I spent more than a year playing only using pressure, i had so many problems because of that and didn't know why at the time. While reading the book "Prelude to brass playing" i noticed the existence of pressure playing and realized that i was playing like that for more than a year! I went i decided to change that. I started playing without pressure and guess what... I couldn't even reach the middle C! I felt terrible, it's like i didn't have an embouchure at all! I kept practicing, my uncle who is a trumpet player tried a lot to help me, but i still couldn't get even the notes in the middle register. It has been almost two months since then, i practice EVERY SINGLE DAY with almost no results. I can really barely play the middle C and i haven't found a confortable mouthpiece positioning at all! I play long tones, i practice slurs, i try to play the exercises on the method books that i have and still, very little to zero improvement. I don't have a single person that is willing to help me, i don't personally know any trumpet players besides my grandpa and uncle, i don't have neither the money or time for a private teacher. I have only method books and of course, my trumpet. What keeps me from giving up is my love for th