• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Keyboard as Trumpet Improv Resource

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Jazz/Commercial
View previous topic :: View next topic  
jhatpro
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2018 11:16 pm    Post subject: Keyboard as Trumpet Improv Resource Reply with quote

I just got a Roland Juno Di mobile synthesizer and while I’m a rank beginner on keys I’m wondering how I can best use it to improve my improv skills on trumpet.

Any suggestions?

"The notes are there - find them.” Mingus

2021 Martinus Geelan Custom
2005 Bach 180-72R
1965 Getzen Eterna Severinsen
1946 Conn Victor
1998 Scodwell flugel
1986 Bach 181 cornet
1954 Conn 80A cornet
2002 Getzen bugle
brassmusician
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 1:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grab the C version of your favorite jazz standard and learn to voice the chords (plenty of online help available or an Aebersold volume usually has them) and then play the chord progression. It may be easiest to play the root of the chord in your left hand and rest of the chord in your right hand. Go really slow to begin with. Have fun.
Wick 2BFL
PH
Bill Adam/Carmine Caruso Forum Moderator

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 3:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

brassmusician wrote:
Grab the C version of your favorite jazz standard and learn to voice the chords (plenty of online help available or an Aebersold volume usually has them) and then play the chord progression. It may be easiest to play the root of the chord in your left hand and rest of the chord in your right hand. Go really slow to begin with. Have fun.

This.^^

And get Phil DeGreg's book, "Jazz Keyboard Harmony" and work through it at your own slow pace.
Faculty Jamey Aebersold Jazz Workshops 1976-2019
JazzRetreats.com
khedger
Heavyweight Member