• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Comeback and cornet information

View previous topic :: View next topic  
1947cornet

PostPosted: Thu Jun 07, 2018 2:18 am    Post subject: Comeback and cornet information Reply with quote

Hi,all. I am totally new to this form of communication, and also am really, really old--80 yrs--so will be easily confused. Any way, trying to comeback after more than 35 years without a note being played. Once owned a Olds Recording trumpet and a Ambassador cornet, both long gone. Have recently acquired a D.E.G.Caravelle cornet, s/n 218289, and am wondering what its age might be, and also: does this horn use the same valves as the Getzen modern cornets? Whatever they are, they seem to be very good. Also, am open to any suggestions to try for my improvement with comeback.
Thank you for any help. The user name, 1947cornet. Yes, that does mean that I first started to play in 1947---there really was a year 1947, so long long ago, in a very very near galaxy. Thanx again.
Comeback
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Fri Jun 08, 2018 3:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome to TH and best wishes for your comeback. Age certainly affects us (I am 65 and began my comeback 7 years ago) but there is still much joy and fulfillment to be had in playing trumpet/cornet. I have no particulars to share with you concerning your DEG cornet. I will suggest, though, that a comeback attempt can be sort of be knocked off the rails by too much focus on gear. If your cornet seems to be working for you, it is probably just fine. One thing that I have done recently, that has really injected vitality into my own trumpet/cornet efforts, is becoming involved in a community band. You may want to check out the the TH forum dedicated to comeback players; there is a lot of good information there.

Jim
1947cornet

PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2018 4:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote