• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Horns with a sizzling/burning sound for rock & soul band

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
DrKristensen

PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2018 2:25 pm    Post subject: Horns with a sizzling/burning sound for rock & soul band Reply with quote

Hello everyone – a question from Oslo, Norway!

I have been following TH for years, the value of hanging around here is just unbelievable. I just recently formally signed up, and I look forward to taking part in some of the discussions. Some background: I’m an amateur comeback player - after 14 years without a band (busy travel schedule), last year I joined a rock & soul band with a three-piece horn section (trumpet, tenor sax and trombone). It’s A LOT of fun!

Current horns:

• King Legend 2070 ML-SP (0.459” - from 2000). Huge, fat sound and a good player, but drains quite a bit of energy and doesn’t really start to sizzle until I really step on it and go full throttle.
• Yamaha 6330BS – Till Brönner signature model (from 2014, my current main axe). This model has the same leadpipe as 6310z (so quite tight), it’s a ML bore horn (0.459” as well) with a medium bell that is quite lightweight (999g / 35.2oz). I get a nice, commercial sound out of it and both range and endurance are a bit better than on the King. I guess setup-wise (tight leadpipe, ML bore, lightweight, medium, focused bell) it’s perhaps a bit like a Benge 2X or a Schilke B2 (? – my guess). To give you an idea of the bell, a Jo-Ral harmon/bubble mute doesn’t really seat properly (only the part of the cork close to the edge touches the bell, without making adjustments). The original Harmon brand wah-wah fits better, but also this has less contact than the King (or a UMI Benge pocket trumpet I also have).