• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Problem with slurring

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Fundamentals
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Blaedryn

PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2018 1:50 pm    Post subject: Problem with slurring Reply with quote

Hi, so I'm going into 9th grade band next year. I started playing in 7th grade. Lately I've been having a problem with my slurring. If I slur up two or more same-fingering intervals, C within the staff to G above the staff for example, you can hear the note in between pop out for a second. In the C to G case you'd hear the E for a second. I don't recall having this problem in my first year of playing, it started happening towards the end of my 8th grade year. Any ideas as to what's going on and how to fix it?
Andy Del
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2018 4:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The first thing is most are going to ask you what does you trumpet teacher say? That is because you need one!

We can only guess at what is at play here. It may be that yo are improving as a player, and now you are aware enough to notice you are catching the harmonic in-between C & G. It may be you are developing a habit of not supporting enough as you slur. It may, at a pinch, be equipment related...

It may need some careful practice in lip slurs. Your teacher will know better than us.

cheers

Andy
Blaedryn

PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2018 4:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Andy Del wrote:
The first thing is most are going to ask you what does you trumpet teacher say? That is because you need one!

We can only guess at what is at play here. It may be that yo are improving as a player, and now you are aware enough to notice you are catching the harmonic in-between C & G. It may be you are developing a habit of not supporting enough as you slur. It may, at a pinch, be equipment related...