• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Unwanted Split Tones

Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Fundamentals
View previous topic :: View next topic  
16mguilette

PostPosted: Sat Aug 04, 2018 7:32 am    Post subject: Unwanted Split Tones Reply with quote

Hi everyone,

Over the past several months I've been recording myself playing, and almost every time I hear myself producing an unwanted split tone under the note.

When I approach notes above the staff, the tone become an octave under the desired note; otherwise (all the way down to low C sharp), it's usually the lower partial. I can't (or can only just barely) hear this when I'm playing, but it really sticks out on recordings.

About me: I've been playing for close to three years, but I play a lot. I moved up to a 1C mouthpiece and have had no complaints, but I started noticing this around the time that I switched. I don't want to switch off; I love this piece. I have always been a tension player, especially for the first few years of playing, and I suspect that this is contributing to my problem here. I play slightly to the right (no desire to shift to the middle, and my teacher doesn't think it's a problem), and I play with my bottom lip tucked slightly in (this I do not like and need to change; may contribute to this problem). I do study with a private teacher when I'm in school, but that's a month away.

I'll link some recordings that I've spliced together into one file. Any insight would help. Thank you!

Matt

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1dSf1zAQoW8s8SC0MbdJNn0_dMzSaRmg-

https://drive.google.com/open?id=19VfdLWcKIGW7T6MmliwIXbbc-mmLrzWH
Tpt_Guy
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Sat Aug 04, 2018 9:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I hear what you're talking about. There are a few possibilities in mouthpiece design that could be causing it, but first: