• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

New Horn, *way* too much condensation

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Fundamentals
View previous topic :: View next topic  
dkasak

PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2018 4:03 am    Post subject: New Horn, *way* too much condensation Reply with quote

Hi all. I've been playing for about 35 years now, mostly on the same horn ( Schilke MK II ), and I've recently gotten myself a new horn, a Jupiter JTR-812-RL ( on advice from a friend, and he wasn't wrong ). I'm loving it But I'm having a big issue with condensation. It just builds up so fast. It seems like every 16-bar phrase I have to let some out, or it gurgles. It's also making it's way into the 1st valve slide, so I have to take it out, tip the horn up on end and blow the condensation out ( and be careful not to spray myself with it ). Finally, quite a bit just comes out the bell. I've never seen so much condensation build up so quickly. When I got the new horn, I also got a new mouthpiece ( a Kelly 'Screamer' ) - which I'm also liking a lot. It's plastic or some kind of synthetic material. Maybe this is contributing? I'm pretty sure I'm not blowing a lot more air into the new horn. What's going on here?
trombahonker
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2018 4:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dunno about why you're getting more, but there's no need to take the 1st slide out. The top tube of the 1st slide goes back to the main tuning slide. Think it through - you can just depress the 1st valve and tip the horn and do a light shake to get the water back in to the main slide, or third slide, or wherever you want. Same goes with 2nd or 3rd slides if you don't want to remove them. Just a matter of putting the valve down and shaking the water back to where you want it for removal.
roynj
Heavyweight Member