• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Best mouthpiece for someone who uses too much pressure?

Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
jmenz15

PostPosted: Tue Aug 28, 2018 4:29 pm    Post subject: Best mouthpiece for someone who uses too much pressure? Reply with quote

Hello everyone! I've been playing trumpet for about 16 years now, throughout my public schooling, college, and young adult life. I've always been a fairly casual player, and never seriously considered playing professionally. I just love making music, and don't plan to stop any time soon. I play in a few community groups in my area, along with the occasional paid gig, and that's more than enough for me.

I've always been told that I use too much pressure when I play. I often find myself getting tired very quickly, and no matter how long I play for, whether 10 minutes or 3 hours, I always get the dreaded pressure ring on my upper lip. But because I'm not a professional musician, I've never wanted to commit to the grueling task of reshaping my embouchure or unlearning years of bad habits. If I were pursuing this as a profession, I would certainly make this commitment, but alas, I am not.

Which brings me to the question: is there a specific mouthpiece that you would recommend for someone like me who uses too much pressure? Or maybe any specific techniques or tricks? I know many would consider this a crutch, and I don't disagree, but as a casual yet passionate player, I just want to get as much enjoyment as possible out of playing the trumpet, and isn't that what we're all here for in the end?

Any and all help is appreciated! Thanks all!
jhatpro
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Tue Aug 28, 2018 4:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote