• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Should I invest in a new instrument?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
aj1234

PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2018 1:13 pm    Post subject: Should I invest in a new instrument? Reply with quote

Hello,

I am not sure whether this is the right place to ask this question...

I am interested in purchasing a new instrument but I don't know whether I should. I am currently a college student; and I study engineering, not music.

I have been playing for about 10 years, sine I was around 8 or 9. For as long as I have been playing, I have been using the same instrument: it's a student-level Yamaha 2320, with the very moderate amount of damage that I guess is common. I also use the standard Yamaha 7C equivalent.

Though I don't study music, I am quite involved in various music related activities: including marching and pep band as well as a classical ensemble, which is my preferred setting for playing (I will be trying to join other ensembles as time permits). Last year, I was assigned first chair in all of these ensembles. I do try to practice as much as possible (I do the work my teacher assigns me from things like the Arban's or things like Brandt).

I have been saving up in the interest of buying a professional grade instrument and I am willing to spend a decent amount.