• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Adapting to C trumpet from Bb

Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Orchestral/Chamber Music/Solo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Tivolian

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2018 3:40 pm    Post subject: Adapting to C trumpet from Bb Reply with quote

Howdy. I recently joined a community orchestra, where the pieces are written for either C trumpet (about half) or for E or D trumpet. I am a complete novice at transposing, so I decided to buy a used C trumpet so that I have less, and easier, transposing. It arrived today, and I'm finding the initial adjustment quite challenging, mainly due to a mismatch between what my fingers and embouchure are saying and the notes that I'm hearing. My chops are tiring out very quickly, I think because of trying to constantly adjust them to what I think I should hear vs what I actually hear. My range is several full steps lower on the C, at least as of this first day.

I expected the adjustment to take some time. But I wonder if any of you gentle folks might have advice on how to make the transition from Bb to C trumpet easier. Should I just play the C horn all the time for now? Is there a way of quickly training my ear to hear the new key during warm-ups? Anything else?

Many thanks in advance.
cbtj51
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2018 4:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Similar experience for me a few years ago.

When the need arose, I was lucky to have a '76 Bach 229 Large Bore C loaned to me by a local Symphony member friend (her spare C). Also, it was the first time I had ever played on a Large Bore horn though the Bach .462 designation is far smaller than many of the other main stream large bore designations. I used it for a few months and then ended up buying it from her. I love this horn!!!