• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

35-year range and endurance plateau. Help?

Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Fundamentals
View previous topic :: View next topic  
swingtime

PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2018 5:43 am    Post subject: 35-year range and endurance plateau. Help? Reply with quote

Hi everyone.
I’m at the end of my tether here. I’m 48. I started trumpet at 12/13, weekly lessons at school. I loved it from the moment I took my first rented, battered old cornet out of its case and was an enthusiastic student. I learned quickly, as kids do, and passed my first (UK Grade 3) exam. My parents bought me a new student model Jupiter trumpet shortly after and I whizzed through my Grade 4. The Jupiter came with a big Yamaha mouthpiece with a narrow, rounded rim. Then I started learning my pieces and études for the Grade 5 exam, which required extending my range to A above the staff. I just could not do it. My teacher was just a local brass band player, and I don’t remember him having any other solution than, ‘Just practise, it’ll come’. I slowly lost my enthusiasm around then - I thought I’d found something I could excel at, but no - that A could only be got by ramming that painful rim hard against my lips and blowing hard, and even that was no guarantee. (In photos of myself from that time, I had a pretty extreme downstream setup, like Shorty Rogers. I don’t know how if that was due to natural limitations - my teeth alignment is normal - or the fact that I was small for my age and shy). Up to G was easy, but Ab and A was like switching to a different instrument. I quit and had fun teaching myself some piano instead, but I always missed the trumpet.