• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Embouchure Help

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Fundamentals
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Abbz20

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 9:04 pm    Post subject: Embouchure Help Reply with quote

Hello! Though I am well aware that this is every brass players claim for a range of unidentified problems, I feel I'm having some embouchure difficulties. I'm now a sophomore in college and every since I began playing I get tired and swollen in my actual aperture instead of my outer muscles or corners. My upper register has always been a struggle as I can't comfortably play above a G, though my tone and sounds below that is always rich and full. I've been experimenting with some different sets and researched for hours upon hours to find something that works. So far, nothing has really worked. Any recommendations on resources to use or different embouchure exercises would be very helpful, specifically on how to get the right set up and keep that formation with my muscles. I would also love to hear from anyone who has had a similar experience and how you made a transition or your journey to your playing now.

Thank you in advance!
Betelgeuse215
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 9:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My corners don’t get tired anymore unless I am out of shape. Work on focusing the aperture, pianissimo stuff, mpc buzzing, and proper breathing.
zaferis
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2018 3:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Based only on what you wrote, I'm going to guess that it's a pressure issue, not a corner/embouchure problem.
Too much grip, too much left arm and excessive playing.

Soft easy playing, flow studies, range and flexibility work.