• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Strange feeling in my face after playing

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Fundamentals
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Jazzerfred

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2018 3:14 pm    Post subject: Strange feeling in my face after playing Reply with quote

I've been a professional trumpeter for 12 years with no real problems, but the last 6 months I've had a strange sensation in my face that doesn't seem to want to go away. I took 5 days off and no change. It feels like someone is pressing their finger into my face where my nose meets my cheek by the nostril. Also a pulling feeling in the bottom corners of my chin/jaw. I just can't seem to find how to relax them Is anyone familiar with this kind of thing?

Thanks,

Fred
Hotdeal1

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2018 4:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I played trumpet for many years but I'm not familiar with sensation like this but the best advice is to seek out a pro attention of a doctor from that field. Maybe u pulled a muscle , maybe u did not play for a while and then played too much / had a demanding gig ?! maybe seasonal cold is affecting it. Try warm compress of some sort . I just think what could help to relax the area logically, I'm not a doctor !
TrumpetMD
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2018 4:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry to hear about this. Do you think it's related to your playing or do you think it's from something else. Given that it's been going on for 6 months, and assuming it might not be playing-related, it might be worth having a dentist check you out (if you haven't already done this).

Mike
Plus a few other Bach, Getzen, Olds, Carol, HN White, and Besson horns.
LSOfanboy
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2018 11:32 pm    Post subject: Re: Strange feeling in my face after playing Reply with quote