• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Graduate programs advice

View previous topic :: View next topic  
jafetdiazdj

PostPosted: Tue Dec 04, 2018 5:41 am    Post subject: Graduate programs advice Reply with quote

Hi, im looking for graduate programs in USA or other countries. Im Panamanian but here we dont have here Graduate programs for the instrument.

I would like to know about the process of applying for foreigners, recommendations from schools or teachers. I am in my last year of trumpet degree and I would like to continue specializing in my instrument.
kehaulani
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Tue Dec 04, 2018 9:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm sure there will be more answers pertinent to this question, but as an alternate, have you tried European schools? Many will be free or at a reduced price. Berlin, Frankfurt, Amsterdam are all good alternatives.

The degrees may not be Master as opposed to Artist but they may do the same thing, depending on your needs.

Yamaha 8310Z Bobby Shew trumpet
Benge 3X Trumpet
Getzen Capri Cornet
Adams F-1 Flghn
derekthor
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Tue Dec 04, 2018 10:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I’m a Canadian who did a masters in the US. One of the things you’ll need in order to be allowed to study in America is proof that you’ll be able to support yourself financially for an entire year. This is because you won’t be allowed to work off campus at all in your first year of studies and only with government permission after that - and even then with the limitations of no more than 20 hours/week and it must be related to your field of study. You might find some gigs that don’t require any paperwork from you but certainly not enough to help you cover your expenses. You could be the second coming of Bud Herseth, but without the proper documents you won’t be able to do much.