• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Bill Adam Daily Routine (Beginner)

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Xenoman
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2002 11:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For the past two weeks I have devoted myself to following the Bill Adam routine and the results have been fantastic. I just wanted to get some feedback from players who teach using this method...

Because I am a beginner, some of the lessons are outside of my range (mainly the higher lip slurs). When I reach one that is too high I will usually repeat one of the other exercises that are similar within my range. Is this ok?

I sometimes have to rest not only following each exercise but after about 30-45 minutes of study. I can usually do long tones & chormatics followed by some rest and then continue through the rest of the routine. Is this ok?

Thanks in advance for your help as always.
Xenoman
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Wed Mar 13, 2002 10:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Geez... was the above question really that difficult?
NCTrumpet
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Wed Mar 13, 2002 12:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Xeno,

You're certainly not doing anything wrong with your approach. If you're wondering whether any deviations from the Adam routine will detract from it's effectiveness, the answer is a qualified 'no.'

Provided you understand what is the goal of the Adam routine, you hardly need his written exercises at all. I continue with his routine because I feel comfortable hanging my hat on it, but now I approach everything I play like an Adam study; keeping a musical frame of mind and a full sound. And NOT trying to analyze everything to the 10th degree. (Still working on that one!)