• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Student FLUGEL

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Cornet/Flügelhorn
View previous topic :: View next topic  
konitzlee

PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2019 9:27 am    Post subject: Student FLUGEL Reply with quote

Howdy fellow trumpeters and flugelhornists!!

I am an amateur trumpet player, I own a used STRADIVARIUS REVERSE LR180S 37 ML which is a great horn, it plays always on tune and I can't complain about it.

For the past 10 years I have been dreaming about getting a flugelhorn. Although I've browsed all the possibilities, basically I've given up on getting a serious instrument: a good pro one is too expensive: Van Laars, Adams, Conn, Kunstel etc etc, make extremely beautiful flugs; in a way though it makes no sense for an amateur like me to get an extremely beautiful instrument and do installments with a bank when I'm not a pro.

Would you be so kind to advise me then as to which student instrument I could buy? I have my eyes set on the bach FH600.

What's your take on this? Would you have student flugs to suggest?
TKSop
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2019 9:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

A used Yamaha 631/731 shouldn't be prohibitively expensive - and they hold their value, so if you ever needed the cash back out of it you could sell it for pretty much what you paid for it.
mrhappy
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2019 9:52 am    Post subject: Re: Student FLUGEL Reply with quote

konitzlee wrote:
in a way though it makes no sense for an amateur like me to get an extremely beautiful instrument and do installments with a bank when I'm not a pro.

I don't think that being a non-pro has anything to do with buying a nice horn. A really nice horn that brings you some joy just by opening the case will do just that... make you want to open the case and play!!
etc-etc
Heavyweight Member