• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Anybody found a way to use Bluetooth with Silent Brass?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
ianmcarey

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 11:42 pm    Post subject: Anybody found a way to use Bluetooth with Silent Brass? Reply with quote

Hi! I've been using the same early Yamaha Silent Brass unit for many years for nighttime practicing--I've tried other similar systems (including newer Yamahas up to their most recent model) but haven't found anything that works as well and has a comparable combination of decent sound, A/C power, and line in/out capability (I run a line from my laptop for playalongs, etc). The problem is the $&^% cords! They are such a nuisance and I am constantly yanking out either the mute pickup cord or the headphone cord inadvertently by turning the wrong way. (The mute cord seems especially susceptible to feedback, also.)

Since Yamaha seems to not have any interest in producing a cordless model (combined with A/C rather than battery power), I'm wondering about plugging in a Bluetooth transmitter (something like this) for at least the headphones if not the mute also (if possible). Has anybody tried this?

Thanks!
atom_anderson
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2019 4:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried this a few years ago with a bluetooth transmitter. It worked, but there was a noticeable lag in the sound that came through the headphones, which really ruined the experience. It may be that the new bluetooth specifications are better now, with better transmitters too.
mm55
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2019 5:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The delay (called "latency" in tech-speak) is a characteristic of Bluetooth's A2DP protocol. It can be almost a quarter of a second. Qualcomm's aptX protocol may address it, but you'd need both a transmitter and headset that support aptX.