• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

cannot play loud enough in a small acoustic jazz band

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Fundamentals
View previous topic :: View next topic  
sioul

PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2019 8:25 am    Post subject: cannot play loud enough in a small acoustic jazz band Reply with quote

Hello all Trumpet Players,
I have been learning trumpet for 10 months and was happy with my progress so far. But recently I come to play with my small jazz band (acoustic piano, clarinet , sax, guitar with small amp), where I play electric bass for several year; they kindly let me take a few solo (Black Orpheus, Softly, Blue in Green) and i sometimes swap from bass to trumpet.
The problem is that I am really not loud enough and I cannot hear my self, thus my intonation is awful. I had the feeling to be loud at home.
I surely need more practice but is there any particular advice that you can give me ??

(to take lessons is probably necessary but it is not possible for now ).
My trumpet is a Yamaha 4335 + Bach 3C.

Thank you very much for your help.
(i am french , so please forgive my english)
Brassnose
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2019 8:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Get a microphone. I used to play split lead in a soul/pop band with 2 singers and a 4 piece horn section. Once the electricians and the drummer had their gear set, there was no way to hear any of the horns unless we were miked.

Do NOT try to play full throttle, you can’t win. My teacher once said to me something along the lines: “I think Tower of Power play a solid mf on stage, not more. The rest comes from the PA.”

I think he may be right.
1980/2023 Custom Blessing Scholastic C 😎
1977 Conn 6B
1951 Buescher 400 Lightweight
AR Resonance, Klier, Curry
Richard III
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2019 8:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote