• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Flugelhorn Selection

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Cornet/Flügelhorn
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Mikee

PostPosted: Sat Mar 02, 2019 7:50 pm    Post subject: Flugelhorn Selection Reply with quote

I am a newbie to this site. Comeback player - off for 35+ years back for 5 years now in earnest - but still a long way to go! I play in local Pops band and in church every Sunday.

I would like to buy a Flugelhorn for the more mellow sound to play in church - mostly melodies and some descants for standard hymns. Recently had a french horn join me in church for a month or so - was beautiful - trying to get closer to that sound.

There are no music stores near me that have any Flugelhorns in stock - therefore hard to try any out. I probably have more $ than sense - what should I buy (new)? Bach 183 and complete the lineup? Who stocks (in South East) many types of Flugels where I could try some out?

Any advise appreciated...

Bach Strad Artisan Bb
Bach Strad 180S/37 Bb
Bach Strad 238 C
Newell Post

PostPosted: Sat Mar 02, 2019 8:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hard to go wrong with Bach, unless you have some very specific requirements. I have a Kanstul and a Yamaha flugel. They are quite different in terms of tone and response. The Kanstul has a copper bell which further mellows the tone. I love copper bells on flugel, although they are more fragile.

Here's something I tried at a small church recently: Flugelhorn mouthpiece on my Schilke cornet. The sound was vaguely "flumpetish" -- more mellow than trumpet or cornet, but not really flugelhorn, either. In a small space, it worked quite well for congregational sign-along.
Tobylou8
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Sun Mar 03, 2019 4:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newell Post wrote: