• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Reducing volume, small group

Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Jazz/Commercial
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Tivolian

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 8:38 am    Post subject: Reducing volume, small group Reply with quote

I started playing (amateur) with a few other geezers in a jazz quartet, with tenor sax, keyboards, and drums. It's all acoustic, no mics. The sax player has politely complained a couple of times that I'm too loud, especially since we have a little gig coming up where people will be mixing, chatting while we play. So, my question is whether there are recommendations for mutes that would reduce my volume but let as much pure trumpet sound as possible come through. Thanks in advance.
ayryq
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 9:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would play with mutes that don't necessarily give you a "pure trumpet sound". Cup mutes can be very jazzy. Harmon of course, bucket, even a felt bag over your bell (à la Crown Royal).

That said, if you're overplaying a live drummer, you can probably afford to back off a bit.
DEG Signature 2000 Bb/A picc
Yamaha YTR-9835 Bb/A picc
Yamaha Bobby Shew flugel
Yamaha Neo cornet
starkadder
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 9:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This: https://soulomute.com/product/trumpet-bucket-mute/
Tivolian

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 9:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ayryq wrote:
I would play with mutes that don't necessarily give you a "pure trumpet sound". Cup mutes can be very jazzy. Harmon of course, bucket, even a felt bag over your bell (à la Crown Royal).

That said, if you're overplaying a live drummer, you can probably afford to back off a bit.

The drummer doesn't complain!
mrhappy
Veteran Member