• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Horns for a lead player

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
xCornStar

PostPosted: Mon Apr 08, 2019 6:10 pm    Post subject: Horns for a lead player Reply with quote

I'm an undergrad student, in my freshman year who plays lead. I would like to get a new horn after using the same one for the past 4-5 years. I use a Schilke B1 but it's a little banged up and will use at as my marching horn once I get the next one. What are some recommendations for someone who will focus mostly on Jazz/lead playing?
adagiotrumpet
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Mon Apr 08, 2019 7:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SChilke B2 or if you can play a large bore (.463 bore), a Schilke B3.
shofarguy
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Mon Apr 08, 2019 7:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had a Schilke X-4 for awhile. It was an outstanding trumpet. The X-4 is essentially a B-1 with a .468" bore built around their X valve block. I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone who plays lead in a live band. Also, the B-3 with a Beryllium bell is, I think, the best sound for a lead trumpet from the Schilke lineup. I wonder if they'd ever make a .468" version...

A Burbank or Benge 6X-CG is also a terrific horn for lead. These are also .468-.470" bore trumpets. If you get a Benge or older Burbank, check them over for valve alignment and stretched mouthpiece receivers. A few weeks ago, Michael Thomas had the last new Burbank 6X-CG in stock. You might look into it.

Flip Oakes Wild Thing Bb Trumpet in copper
Flip Oakes Wild Thing Flugelhorn in copper

There is one reason that I practice: to be ready at the downbeat when the final trumpet sounds.
B_Starry
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Mon Apr 08, 2019 7:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lots of good choices in addition to the typical Schilkes (B4, B5, B6.)