• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Eb trumpet vs Eb cornet- which is more versatile?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Ep1cus

PostPosted: Fri Apr 12, 2019 8:33 am    Post subject: Eb trumpet vs Eb cornet- which is more versatile? Reply with quote

Hello all
So I'm a uni student looking to buy a new horn and I'm wondering which is more versatile, Eb cornet or trumpet? I'm specifically looking under 1500 USD and it'll be the first eb horn i've owned. Some pros for the eb cornet would be a lower price around me and being able to use the same mouthpiece i'm going to use for a picc (planning on getting a brasspire from Trent Austin or a Getzen capri) at the cost of not being as appropriate for the Neruda, Hayden, etc.

Care to share your thoughts?
Danbassin
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Fri Apr 12, 2019 9:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Find the best horn for you, for your available funds.

The Neruda is a horn concerto, and the Haydn was written for an instrument that few audience members would construe to be a trumpet. So, if your concern is playing music, don't worry about the horn - unless it keeps you from being able to express your music, in which case it's not the right horn for you!

Eb cornets and Eb trumpets are somewhat notorious for intonation problems, with the former being a bit more problematic than the latter. Lots of classical pros will break out their Eb trumpet to play challenging or delicate parts that may be extra challenging or too delicate for a big horn.

In much of Europe, playing the Haydn on a Bb trumpet is a litmus test and a regularly required audition piece, while in the USA most college students and pros perform this piece on the small, Eb trumpet.