• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Sudden High Range - Airy, Quiet Sound

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Fundamentals
View previous topic :: View next topic  
EJ Silver

PostPosted: Wed May 01, 2019 7:42 pm    Post subject: Sudden High Range - Airy, Quiet Sound Reply with quote

Hello,

I have been playing trumpet for 5 years and am in my high school’s intermediate and senior bands. For a while I have been working on trying to develop my range and endurance, as they have been quite poor (could not sustain above a G right above the staff and would be unable to play an entire set). I was taking lessons for a while, and my tone had become quite loud and pure, but my range and endurance were still lacking.

Then, all of the sudden, I discovered that if I play quietly I some how have double the range and seemingly endless endurance. However, I notice that playing this way make my tone quite airy, and I am unable to play loudly afterwards.

What I was wondering, is if I should continue to play like this and work on volume and improving my sound as I go, or if this is a detrimental technique and I should avoid it, sticking to what I was doing before.

Thank you for any advice
HERMOKIWI
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu May 02, 2019 4:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Practicing at low volume is one of the best techniques for developing embouchure control and responsiveness. There are no negatives. Your sound at low volume is going to be different than your sound at high volume. Don't worry about it.

Mastering the trumpet is a marathon. Too many students treat it like the 100 yard dash. It takes a long time and a lot of practice. My own experience is that practicing at low volume improves every aspect of playing. Keep doing it.
Brad361
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu May 02, 2019 12:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote