• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Non-Plated Mouthpieces?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Carney2.0

PostPosted: Fri May 10, 2019 8:43 am    Post subject: Non-Plated Mouthpieces? Reply with quote

I'm brand new to this very cool community (this is my first post) and have a general question on the various types of plating and non-plating options for mouthpieces.

I just picked up an unusual "Bell-Air Rite Cup 37" mouthpiece from the 1940s that appears to be naked brass. It's shallow with a ride rim - really allows me to "scream." I'm a comeback player after 11 years, and have been reading more about mouthpieces. What is the verdict on gold vs. silver plating? And, in the case of my Bell-Air, what is the argument for opting for just naked, beautiful brass? Does this actually change the lip feel (and perhaps embouchure) or playing comfort, or is it purely aesthetic? Thanks!
1925 Conn Director
ayryq
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Fri May 10, 2019 9:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Brass contains lead. The science seems to be "out" but I wouldn't put a raw-brass mouthpiece to my lips. Of course I drink water poured through brass faucets and valves every day...

I guess it might turn your lips green too; I've seen posts from people with raw-brass instruments who say that can happen.

I believe the main argument for gold vs silver plating is to accommodate an allergy for one or the other, but also gold can feel "slipperier" and warms up more quickly.
DEG Signature 2000 Bb/A picc
Yamaha YTR-9835 Bb/A picc
Yamaha Bobby Shew flugel
Yamaha Neo cornet
cheiden
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Fri May 10, 2019 9:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's also worth noting that gold plating is almost always applied on top of a layer of silver plate.