• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Unimprovisation

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Jazz/Commercial
View previous topic :: View next topic  
fblues

PostPosted: Sun Jun 16, 2019 9:59 am    Post subject: Unimprovisation Reply with quote

Hi,

This is about a small agony I have had.

I am a beginner-intermediate level amateur player.
And I take some elementary improvisation class offered
from a university professor to the general public.

In this class, the professor told us what scale or chord to use for sections of tunes;
so, I can simply follow and enhance the improvisation to prepare for a small concert at the end of the semester.

The thing is that I usually "improvise" in the classes; but,
I get to memorize the flow for the concert, so that it becomes unimprovisation.
(Maybe because of pressure?)
At least I do not write down things for the concert, so I cannot replicate everything.
But, my improvisations are still based on the memorization which is quite opposite direction of Jazz.

I personally think the memorization step is okay or even necessary to build up my own improvisation eventually.
If this is true, do I just need to add one more step to forget everything in my mind?

I know this is a vague question.
If some of you had a similar question in the early days,
please give me some comments or tips to deal with this irony.

Thank you for your time!
TrumpetMD
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Sun Jun 16, 2019 1:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What you're describing is common. It was probably something I did, back when I was starting out.