• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Can An Old Dog Learn New Licks?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Fundamentals
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Branson
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu Sep 05, 2019 10:58 pm    Post subject: Can An Old Dog Learn New Licks? Reply with quote

This morning I filled in for one of the trumpet players in a local Worship Band. To say it was a challenge would be understating the situation.

The majority of the charts were “kicking” funk charts and something I have had little experience playing.

On the drive home I mulled in my mind why I was uncomfortable playing funk rhythms and soon the reason came to me. I have never played in a Funk Band before! How could this have happened? Then, after reading Wikipedia’s definition of the term Funk Music, It came to me. Funk music began after most of my active playing in early Swing, Dance Band and Shows was established. Everything I have done throughout most of my life was based on rhythmic subdivided in nothing shorter than an eighth rest…..Funk on the other hand makes use of subdivisions of sixteenths and thirty- seconds. What a revelation that was. Where had I been from the mid-60s to the present? How could I have neglected this important era in popular music. During my tenure at UNI, my student bands were playing Funk on a regular basis but as the director I seldom played the intricate parts myself.

You might wonder if I was able to play successfully during the service and judging from the reaction of the band, I think I pulled it off, but only because I put in some regular practicing on the music beforehand.

I loved the experience and would enjoy rejoining this “younger than me” ensemble again. I have trumpets older than many of these talented players.