• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

How to Find the Best Orchestral Mouthpiece for Me?

Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
BbTrumpet1

PostPosted: Sat Sep 07, 2019 1:41 pm    Post subject: How to Find the Best Orchestral Mouthpiece for Me? Reply with quote

Hello,

I am currently student teaching (music ed) but planning on continuing on and auditioning for grad school (classical route) in the near future. I’m playing a ton, and just started taking lessons from an amazing teacher.

DISCLAIMER: I am not looking for a quick fix. I went mouthpiece shopping purely out of curiosity.

In college, I started playing on an Faxx 3C mouthpiece and have been for the last four or so years. I know it’s a cheaper copy of Bach, and went into a shop today to try out an actual Bach 3C. I actually kind of liked the feel as opposed to the Faxx. I get many compliments on my sound, but I have trouble making my upper register sound as good as the stuff below.

The attendant suggested a bunch of other things and said they were all “better fits” for me than the Bach 3C. I know many orchestral players play on 1 1/2 C, and initially, it felt a bit large for me. I am wondering if this is because I haven’t worked my way up enough embouchure-wise yet, or if my lips just will never be big enough for that size. However, after attempting some research today it seems as though i should be working towards a larger mouthpiece?

The attendant talked me into buying a Pickett 3D mouthpiece because my range was very strong and full. He said my sound improved. However, I feel like it brightened my sound. The mouthpiece will still be a useful purchase because I do some lead playing here and there, however what I really wanted was something either equivalent to what I was already using, or even something wider/larger to start working up to.