• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Bach 2 1/2 c for a beginner?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Zed

PostPosted: Fri Oct 18, 2019 12:17 am    Post subject: Bach 2 1/2 c for a beginner? Reply with quote

Hi All,

long time lurker first time poster. Not sure if this should be in the mouthpiece forum or the comeback player one. Mods -feel free to move.

I started playing cornet in a brass band at about age 12 but did not really get into it until after braces at 15. Getting private lessons from the bandmaster who was a classically trained trumpeter (and national soprano cornet champion). I think he played a bach 1 c on trumpet but he started me on a bach 2 1/2 c which I played on cornet (and trumpet when I bought one at age 17).

My question is this: Given what is in the Bach mouthpiece guide about it being for a muscular embouchure, was this a strange choice for a starting mouthpiece?

I only ever did exam (5th grade AMEB) and was playing stuff like 2nd movement of the Hayden, the Goedeke study (not sure of the spelling - the one with all the double tonguing) attempting the rest of the Hayden (never nailed the e flat) and had a range to high c but no higher. After school finished I essentially had no further lessons but went on a bit of a mouthpiece safari as I got into jazz and was concerned that my tone was too classical and that my range was not good enough. I went initially to a giardinelli 7M on the recommendation of a commercial player who taught at a jazz camp I went to at age 18 and then to a bach 5v for about 2 years. When I got a job after university the trumpet was essentially put away but with periods of a few months every few years where I would get it out and practice like mad only to put it down again when life got in the way. The mouthpiece safari continued to a bach 5c, 3c, 3c megatone and finally a monette B2s3 ( for about 2 months last year).