• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Playing high with just sighing

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> High Range Development
View previous topic :: View next topic  
supercow216

PostPosted: Tue Dec 03, 2019 7:57 am    Post subject: Playing high with just sighing Reply with quote

Hi,

I have been practicing Balanced Embouchure by Jeff for 8 months, with some success with both RI and RO. My top note was a high C but not very inconsistent.

I recently watched a video by Paul Mayes. He suggests that players should always sigh when starting a note.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6zmGHEeIJPQ

After testing back and forth, I found the only way to play this way is to have the lower jaw protruding, and play in the "upstream" (made-up word) style. Every note up to high C is suddenly clear and smooth as butter. When going higher than that, I need to "open my throat more" (sorry I have no idea how to explain this transcending feeling), like you should be "puking" to play high???.

Interestingly, my top lip definitely roll in and out freely as BE indicated but my lower lip is locked due to the protruding jaw. TOL now also feel very normal, with no discomfort. With this settings however, I can't do RO and RI, or squeaking and have to do them isolatedly. But as Jeff said, practing BE and playing with your normal embouchure!

Like I said, the feeling was quite dope!!!! Does anyone practice this sigh approach?

I am still learning!
acritzer
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Tue Dec 03, 2019 9:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've watched a bunch of Paul's videos and really enjoy them. I've had some success in attempting the sigh concept, but it hasn't created any amazing break throughs.