• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Can Cichowicz disable one temporary?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Fundamentals
View previous topic :: View next topic  
SaxoTrump
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Fri Jan 17, 2020 6:01 am    Post subject: Can Cichowicz disable one temporary? Reply with quote

I don't mean that in this particular case Cichowicz flow studies is something nasty but I would use them rather as a generalization of something new done vigorously for the first time.

Here I explain what I mean: I've never done Cichowicz before and decided to give it a try last Monday, Jan.13 (well, isn't that a nice date?)
Since I was new to these flow exercises they felt weird but doable although I immediately realized that it takes skill to maintain good intonation on descend.

But that's not the question what to do with the studies and how to proceed with them. The question is this:
- Could they disable my playing abilities for the next 3 days?
Again what I mean: I've done each one maybe for 5-6 times in a raw and I didn't go above E in the staff. I was just getting the feel of the exercise and memorizing patterns along the way.

When I finished them, took a 10 minutes break and then returned to my next segment I realized I could barely play at all.
What's worse, for the next 3 days including yesterday I could barely play above middle C.
Actually I didn't realize at first what was the reason and I later came to a conclusion that my temporary collapse could be associated with the Cicho-flows.

As a generalization, which is even more important - can some new exercises when done vigorously and maybe even somewhat forcefully (but not actually with a brute force but rather with the intelligently controlled force) cause temporary embouchure collapse for a few days?
JayKosta
Heavyweight Member