• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Schilke 11

View previous topic :: View next topic  
JGulyas
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Wed Jan 22, 2020 6:32 am    Post subject: Schilke 11 Reply with quote

I'm a comeback player and am trying to pick a uniform Bb/C mouthpiece. Back when I played for a living, I had Karl Hammond make a mouthpiece for me that was based on a 13A4a; has the 13 rim size, 4 rim contour, and the cup is slightly deeper than the A but shallower than a B. It worked great for the playing I was doing at the time (TOP, EWF, Chicago type stuff). That was 12 years ago, and I hadn't done any playing since then so I'm on the 'comeback trail' so to speak.

Fast forward to now... Trying to find the metal under the years of rust on my face, and have been playing with a 10B4 since my JG model Hammond is now too big ( ). Since I'm going to try and get back into orchestral playing, the JG is definitely *not* the mpc to use for that.

The 10B4 is maybe just a tad too small in the rim size so I'm looking at 11's. I have a Schilke 11Ax that I used to use on piccolo, and had great success with that. I also like the 4 rim contour, so I figured I'd just pick myself up an 11C4. Yeah... seems that's easier said than done. Does anyone know where I can get one, or do I need to go back to Karl to have one made? I honestly can't afford the $$ to get one made for me these days (especially with 2 teenage boys eating me out of house and home) so I'm trying to find a used one.

Thanks!

John

US Navy Bandsman 1996-2010 (Trumpet; Audio Engineer)
Mpc - Kanstul/Monette B6, Hammond Design custom "JG"
Bb - Yamaha 6335HGSII
C - Eastman ETR530
Picc - NoName Chinese
cheiden
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Wed Jan 22, 2020 9:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Might be worth trying a Yamaha 11C4. It's extraordinarily easy to find.
Bach 3C rim on 1.5C underpart
Christian K. Peters