• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Success after braces

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> High Range Development
View previous topic :: View next topic  
GJ Trumpet

PostPosted: Sun Mar 15, 2020 12:49 pm    Post subject: Success after braces Reply with quote

I have felt the need to post this for a while because I want to share my experience and let people know that braces can actually be the best thing to happen to you playing trumpet. Yes, the best thing.

I had been playing for about 2 years practicing before I got braces, and I would say I was pretty average for a teenager who hadn't been practicing that much in that time. My range was not very good, but I was always trying to get that next note, I could squeak out Ds and Es sometimes but anything above a G on top of the stage was a struggle. I was starting to learn to stop using pressure, and a few months before I knew I was getting braces, I started practicing playing with little pressure. I used the palm method almost everyday and focused on never pressing to get a higher note, and before I got my braces put on I had come on significantly in just a few months, and my sound was much broader than before (I could hear myself in recordings of bands I was in just filling out the 3rd part).