• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

newbie high notes

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Fundamentals
View previous topic :: View next topic  
trumpetgreece

PostPosted: Sun Mar 22, 2020 7:02 am    Post subject: newbie high notes Reply with quote

Hi! Im a trumpet newbie, I play for about 4 months, I dont have a teacher, I ve learned mostly from youtube videos.

The question is this, when you re playing higher notes -for example middle C- you do this by:

a)bring your lips closer to the teeth making a trumpet face and the more exagerated trumpet face the higher the note?

b)close the aperture between the lips by closing the lips?

Which of the two is the correct way?

Also, the highest note I can play is middle C, and the problem is I strain and tighten my throat and all facial muscles. Is this wrong?
HERMOKIWI
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Sun Mar 22, 2020 8:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Embouchure requirements vary from player to player so we can't really give you anything more than general information. You need to be working with someone who can actually observe what you're doing and give you guidance.

I can tell you only about my personal approach. If you were to watch me ascend the scale you wouldn't notice me making any adjustments at all. That's because everything is happening inside the mouthpiece. I'm definitely not making a "trumpet face" or grimacing or appearing to strain.

What I'm doing primarily is adjusting the relative lip to lip compression and position and keeping the air flowing. The adjustments are extremely slight.

If you're straining you're not doing it correctly. Range is almost entirely a technique thing, not a strength thing. Admittedly, it is a very difficult thing to teach and to master. That much is obvious because so many players have so much difficulty with range.