• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Method

View previous topic :: View next topic  
napoorsocapo
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2020 4:52 am    Post subject: Method Reply with quote

I can ask what is the easiest method for trumpet. I am a certain age and would like to start with something simple. Sound self-taught, but I would like to try the approach of a method for trumpet. Arban does not seem very simple to me.
trumpetDS
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2020 5:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would recommend the "Walter Beeler Method for Cornet." It has a good balance of everything. There is a Book 2 as well.
Dayton
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2020 5:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If AT ALL POSSIBLE, study with a teacher to achieve the best results. I know that may be a challenge, but many teachers are now offering lessons via Skype and Zoom....

If that is not possible, I think that Harold"Pappy" Mitchell's "Mitchell on Trumpet" is the best method for independent study. The first lesson in the first volume is suitable for absolute beginners. From there, the lessons progress gradually, ending with some very advanced material in the fourth volume (lesson 82). You can purchase a hard copy from Hickey's Music, Amazon or a number of other stores, or an electronic copy from qPress (qpress.ca).

The two-volume sequence "Let's Get Started Right" and "The Developing Trumpet Player" by Bill Knevitt -- which may only be available electronically from qPress (qpress.ca) -- is also fairly comprehensive, steadily progressive up to the intermediate level, and worth recommending.