• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Bach 10 1/2C

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Jon Arnold
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2020 8:40 am    Post subject: Bach 10 1/2C Reply with quote

I have been playing for 35 going on 36 years. Like many young players, started out on a 7C. Switched to a 3C in high school and have been on 3C range mouthpieces for many years. Lately I have been playing around with vintage Bach mouthpieces and have fallen in love with a 10 1/2 C from the 60's. I never thought I could play on a smaller mouthpiece but I am having fun with it.

Years ago I went to hear the legendary Blue Wisp Big in Cincinnati and the 2nd player sounded so good on his solos. Being a young and dumb kid, I asked what mouthpiece are you playing on? He said 10 1/2C. He sounded so dark. I was shocked by it.
A.N.A.Mendez
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2020 3:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have one I like as well !

☛ "No matter how cynical you get, it's never enough to keep up" Lily Tomlin☚
JLandressBrassCustServ.

PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2020 10:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey Jon,

We hope all is well with you and that you're staying safe during these crazy times!

We LOVE the Bach 10 1/2C and feel that it is an often neglected mouthpiece in today's trumpet ideal. It is a mouthpiece that, depending on the era, plays much bigger than our mind believes it to be and can work well in a variety of settings.

In blind playing tests, we have seen the 10 1/2C go head-to-head with some of the popular "bigger" orchestral sizes as well as smaller commercial sizes. It has just enough depth to sound legit while having enough compression to add brilliance to your tone for lead parts. The biggest thing we notice is that because of the way the cup and rim are shaped, it forces the player to relax, and once we relax, everything is better!

Enjoy!