• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Bassoon to Trumpet

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Fundamentals
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Bassoontyphoon

PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2020 7:04 pm    Post subject: Bassoon to Trumpet Reply with quote

Hello my name is Tyler and I'm new to the trumpet. I am a bassoonist who has been playing Bassoon for about 14 years and my friend gave me a trumpet. So since I'm out of college and don't really play Bassoon that much anymore, I want to commit all my time to trumpet. I don't know anything about embouchure but what I've read is that the pink of your lips should be inside the mouthpiece. I can play up to top line F, and on some days, can play G above it. I've heard that long tones are like the "bread and butter" of brass playing, but I wonder what other exercises are essential to becoming a better trumpet player. I already know how to double tongue ( have had to do it many times on Bassoon), so tonguing isn't the issue. What I can't seem to do is do lip slurs without adjusting my embouchure. Are there any tips or links to exercises you would suggest to a beginner trumpet player who wants to extend range and endurance. Thanks in advance!
Tyler
Jaw04
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2020 9:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

We have a LOT of trumpet method books. Maybe I'm old school, but I think getting a couple books would be better than grabbing things here and there online. The ones I would recommend you work out of would be Clarke's Technical Studies and maybe Arban's. For lip slurs look at the Irons book. It starts slow and simple and works on the fundamentals of changing partials, and expands as the book goes on.
dershem
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2020 4:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote