• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Just fitted heavy caps

View previous topic :: View next topic  
m1tch

PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2020 4:36 am    Post subject: Just fitted heavy caps Reply with quote

Hi all,

I am very new to trumpets and I have a very basic new beginner trumpet that I am gradually going through and cleaning up in terms of both internally cleaning, oiling as well as cleaning up the threads on the caps.

As its a beginner trumpet the threading isn't really that good and I can see that the quality isn't perfect either - but still good to start with.

I have been looking around at a few accessories/trim pieces such as button caps and noticed that you can get KGU heavy caps for each end of the valve etc, being new to trumpets I didn't want to spend a huge amount as I see that you can get KGU kits for £200. I instead opted to just try out some much cheaper alternatives which came in at around £18 for 2 different sorts. I mainly got the kit(s) as it would be useful for spare parts as there was a heavy brass option as well as a lighter 'hex' cap set along with stems etc.

I fitted them before practice yesterday and I can say that they have made a difference - but not necessarily the reasons as stated on the KGU site.

I noticed that the kit seemed to do 2 things, firstly its made the trumpet feel more solid and rigid (probably not an issue on some of the more expensive trumpets) but its also stabilised the valve stem slightly within the bore. Looking at the stock valve caps that came with my trumpet they are fairly basic with some fairly loose tolerances. With these new caps I can tell that the tolerance between the stem and cap is better.

Just thought I would mention this on the forum as I might look to get a proper set if I had a decent trumpet but they seem to give quite a nice upgrade to a basic beginner trumpet.