• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Upper Register and Confidence

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> High Range Development
View previous topic :: View next topic  
LogsTrumpet

PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2020 7:03 pm    Post subject: Upper Register and Confidence Reply with quote

Hello trumpeters,

I want to run a situation to on by you. I’m currently a student pursuing my masters in trumpet performance at a music conservatory. Until the beginning of this year, I did not have many issues with confidence or my upper register. However, I believe exposure to a new place with new challenges and expectations instilled some bad habits of pinching and stretching my lips outward as I ascend. The beginning of this year was unimaginably tough, with days where I even was a little afraid of taking the horn out to practice. Things are much better now, with many improvements in my tone and sound quality, but I am still tending to pinch and strain as I ascend and especially as I try to slur wide intervals. I’m looking for tips on relaxation and ease while playing high, specifically any studies you would recommend to help with this and get some confidence back.

Best
INTJ
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2020 8:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A Skype lesson with Pops would do a lot to fix that.

http://bbtrumpet.com/
Flip Oakes Flugel

Harrelson 5mm MP
kehaulani
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2020 8:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What did your conservatory teacher say. Couldn't s/he see something?

Yamaha 8310Z Bobby Shew trumpet
Benge 3X Trumpet
Benge 3X Cornet
Adams F-1 Flghn
JayKosta
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Fri May 22, 2020 3:21 am    Post subject: Re: Upper Register and Confidence Reply with quote

LogsTrumpet wrote: