• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

How do I begin to learn jazz if I'm already 'advanced'

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Jazz/Commercial
View previous topic :: View next topic  
AkshayB

PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2020 9:51 am    Post subject: How do I begin to learn jazz if I'm already 'advanced' Reply with quote

Hello everyone. My name is Akshay and I've been playing the trumpet for about 6 years.

Recently I realized how amazing trumpet jazz is, and during quarantine, I envisioned learning how to play jazz. Like I said above, I've been playing for 6 years and would say I'm pretty familiar with the classical side of the trumpet (right now I'm working on playing the 1st movement of the Hummel).

My question is how do I start, knowing I have little to no experience playing jazz. I don't have lessons with my private teacher for a few weeks, but he recommended that I take a look at the Jamey Aebersold books. He said they were quite old, but retained a lot of useful information. Are there any other books, videos, or people I could look to to learn jazz.

Thanks in advance,

Akshay.
PH
Bill Adam/Carmine Caruso Forum Moderator

PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2020 10:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Check out the thread called "Jazz Improvisation, Jamey Aebersold" that is a sticky at the top of this forum. It is incredibly clear and useful.
Faculty Jamey Aebersold Jazz Workshops 1976-2019
JazzRetreats.com
kehaulani
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2020 11:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For a general overview and preparation, I would read Improvising Jazz by Jerry Coker. Then start working on the Jamey Aebersold Play-long series. I would play Vols. 1, 2, 54. And read the text to Vol. I, plus using the material suggested by Pat, above.

Yamaha 8310Z Bobby Shew trumpet
Benge 3X Trumpet
Benge 3X Cornet
Adams F-1 Flghn
Pete