• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Olds Ambassador Los Angeles Cornet - what’s the mod?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Cornet/Flügelhorn
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Jinitude

PostPosted: Thu Jul 09, 2020 5:47 pm    Post subject: Olds Ambassador Los Angeles Cornet - what’s the mod? Reply with quote

Hello everyone! This is my very first post on trumpet herald. I’ve bought a few horns from y’all on here and you guys have been great! I’m a beginner, but I love collecting stuff, so I’m falling in the hole of buying cool vintage horns!

I bought this Olds Ambassador, serial number 38492, and it came from the estate of Byron Autrey from MSU. I went to school there for 1 year as a Tuba major, so I thought it was cool to own a horn from a trumpet legend at State!

Anyway, I had read some out Ambassadors here on Trumpet herald and the posts all mention that the lead pipe is different and requires a special mouthpiece. I just got my horn in the mail and promptly there a normal cornet mouthpiece on it and it sounds awesome. Super easy to play with a bright sound. I was super confused because I didn’t have an issues with fitting a mouthpiece. As I went and looked at other pictures of similar Ambassadors, it looks like mine has a different one? I’m not sure, so I thought I would ask the experts here on trumpet herald!

Any ideas on if this is modded and what it is modded with?

View my photos at: https://jenny-may.smugmug.com/Ambassador/Amabassador
Dale Proctor
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu Jul 09, 2020 7:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks like a mouthpiece receiver from a later model Ambassador cornet. Those are sized correctly for modern cornet mouthpieces.
Jinitude

PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2020 7:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote