• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Hello from newbie

View previous topic :: View next topic  
BandTeacher

PostPosted: Thu Jul 16, 2020 5:03 pm    Post subject: Hello from newbie Reply with quote

Hi everyone. This is my first post.

Old timer, public school music teacher. Did my undergrad at New England Conservatory back in the mid 80s, studied with Andre Come for first 2 yrs, then Robert Nagel for last 2. Honestly, not really a hard core trumpet guy by a long shot. Spent most of the last 30 + years learning to play and teach all of the OTHER instruments my job required, plus raising a family etc. Not to mention a few non musical hobbies and interests that competed for my time and attention.

The past year or two, as age has given me a bit more free time, I'm trying to get back into the trumpet thing. For example, I just started playing piccolo (or at least trying) about 6 months ago, at 54 years old! Just something I never got to, I played lots of C and even D/Eb, I just never took that last step. Very interesting story why and how this finally came about, but it's long so I'll save it for another time.

I'm looking forward to hanging out here a bit, and gleaning what I can. I just wanted to start by saying "Hello!"
cgaiii
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu Jul 16, 2020 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome. Sounds like you are off to a great start and having fun. The latter is really important. I look forward to hearing your adventures with the piccolo trumpet.
Bb Bugle: Kanstul
Bb Pocket: Manchester Brass
Flugel: Taylor Standard
Bass Trumpet: BAC Custom
Natural Tr: Custom Haas replica by Nikolai Mänttäri Morales
homebilly
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu Jul 16, 2020 10:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi BT

welcome to TH. i look forward to seeing you around.

ron
http://highdefinitionbigband.com
david johnson
Heavyweight Member