• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Jerry's Latest Tongue Tip Anchor

Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Jerome Callet
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Dave Converse
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Sun Aug 23, 2020 11:22 am    Post subject: Jerry's Latest Tongue Tip Anchor Reply with quote

I studied Jerry's techniques for a few years some years back, in effort to get around some chop problem that changed my career from musician to whatever. Had several phone lessons, and purchased and studied Yoga, SC, and Trumpet Secrets Books.

Jerry really got my tongue forward, improving my articulations greatly. But no improvement to either range or endurance. I've spent the past few years just experimenting with little success.

I recently viewed the DVD discs 1 and 2, watching #1 about 5 times. Early in the vid, Jerry mentions his "new embouchure" of only a day and a half. The vid makes a big point of anchoring the tip of the tongue outside the top lip, with the bottom lip pressing it in for extra support in keeping the top lip from collapsing into the mouthpiece.

My lessons with Jerry were at the point in his research that had the tongue tip anchored on the bottom lip. Was the shift to the top lip what he referred to as his "new embouchure" of a day and a half? And did he keep that thought until his passing?

Hoping someone (maybe Kyle) can shed some light here for me. Thanks in advance.
JayKosta
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Sun Aug 23, 2020 12:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Would someone explain to me what Callet's term of 'tongue tip anchor' or 'tongue anchor position' means.
At what phase(s) of playing a long note is the tongue 'anchored'?
Is the position of the tongue, when it is 'anchored' always the same?
What does the tongue DO when it is not 'anchored'?

Jay