• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

trumpet for young brother

View previous topic :: View next topic  
whothatguy

PostPosted: Tue Sep 08, 2020 2:41 am    Post subject: trumpet for young brother Reply with quote

Hi everyone, my name is Gwen! I'm a newbie, I play trumpet only about 2 months, and I happy to swell the ranks of flute-players
My little brother Sam is only 14 years old, and he is about to join us too. He knew that I started playing trumpet not so long time ago and he also knew that I'd learned only one tune. When I played to him he said that he wanted to play trumpet too, and asked me to gift him a trumpet for his b-day Insofar as I dunno which trumpet I should buy, I want to ask your advice! What is a good option to go with?
jondrowjf@gmail.com
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Tue Sep 08, 2020 3:14 am    Post subject: Student trumpet Reply with quote

Welcome to the trumpet world. There are many great student trumpets available. How much are you willing to spend? What is available in your area? Either a used Yamaha 2330,Getzen 400, Bach 300, student trumpets are excellent ones to start with. What brand and model trumpet do you play? What is the cost of renting a trumpet in your area? Are you and your brother taking band at your high school or do you have a private teacher?

Last edited by jondrowjf@gmail.com on Tue Sep 08, 2020 3:59 am; edited 3 times in total
deleted_user_687c31b

PostPosted: Tue Sep 08, 2020 3:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My recommendation would be not to buy him a trumpet at all. Even the cheap ones are rather expensive and unless you're sure he's gonna stick with it, chances are high that it'll be a waste of money. If you're dead set on buying a trumpet for him though, maybe check the local shops for a cheap 2nd hand one?
Ed Kennedy
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Tue Sep 08, 2020 5:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote