• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Juggling multiple instruments?

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Fundamentals
View previous topic :: View next topic  
ackmondual

PostPosted: Fri Oct 02, 2020 1:03 am    Post subject: Juggling multiple instruments? Reply with quote

For those of you who play multiple instruments, any experiences and tips to share?

I'm playing euphonium as my primary instrument, but self learning flute since I have a hand-me-down instrument. I was thinking buying a trumpet since that's what I started off on, but would like to hear more and what instruments they deal with at the same time.

I'm not a professional. I'm playing mostly for fun, but also that when community band resumes, it makes getting back into that all the more smoothly.
SMrtn
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Fri Oct 02, 2020 2:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Best thing I can say is good luck with it. It's tough being a multi-instrumentalist. You cannot serve two (or more) masters, and instrument learning is a hard taskmaster as you well know.
I play - or attempt to play - three instruments, a saxophone, trumpet, and violin. I was classically trained with violin as a youngster, and play competently on that instrument. Took up saxophone as self taught, and almost competent, and then I met senor trumpet. And that was the end of me. I haven't picked up my violin for many months, and almost the same with sax.
You may not be as I am, but once you become obsessed with one over another, you won't have time for the others. Ahh well, I'm resigned to it.
THE BD
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Fri Oct 02, 2020 3:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you want to do it, go for it! I regularly play both sax and trumpet, as well as other woodwinds and brass. I have gigs in a few bands where I go from one to the other in the same gig.