• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

No sound just air question

Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Fundamentals
View previous topic :: View next topic  
BatmansTrumpet

PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2020 12:02 pm    Post subject: No sound just air question Reply with quote

Hello,

I am new to trumpet. I was looking to get a horn to try out playing.

I used this video to select a student horn -> https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-bBaZT4tEko&t

I went with the cheapest one there—the TR 200.

I watched some beginner videos before I got it.

I have never spoken to anyone who played a horn before. I played a tin whistle in school and I get that makes a sound because of the fipple part that produces the whistling noise.

The first time I blew into the horn I just got the hollow sound of air going through. So I thought maybe there was something wrong and spent about an hour learning about valves and clicking them into place. So I don't think air is blocked. I then went reading more about learning to buzz and lip placement. The basics of buzzing.

So I guess I am surprised in a way that my horn makes no sound when you blow into it. Just air. Not even a beep. So if what I am reading is correct then it's all in the buzzing basics of the body, lips, and mouthpiece interaction and the rest of the instrument just amplifying that sound and not adding anything to it? I guess that amplified sound gets manipulated by the features of the instrument by pressing the valves and using the slides?

So I just want to be sure by asking that the trumpet should just sound like air going through with no trumpet horn sound at all unless I buzz a bit with my lips/body? That it's something like 99% all that interaction and without it, the trumpet is just a complex tubed air vent that doesn't make a sound except just air passing through?