• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Teaching a Young Student

View previous topic :: View next topic  
DEDSound

PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2020 9:16 am    Post subject: Teaching a Young Student Reply with quote

Hi,

I'm a Trumpet Student who teaches lessons at the local music store in my college town. Recently a 5 year old signed up for lessons with me. I let the parents know that it's really young for starting and they might want to consider waiting until he's physically larger (so he can hold the instrument at least) and has a larger attention span, but they really want to make this happen.

He had his first lesson with me last week, and I'm very surprised at how well he's doing. He's a natural on mouthpiece buzzing and responds really well to instructions.

My issue is I don't know what to do with a student this young. He can read a little bit (knows his ABCs), and I'm planning on teaching him basic musical notation in the coming weeks. He can hold the trumpet mostly fine, and apparently is growing like a weed so that won't be an issue for long. At the moment I'm planning on teaching him to play some basic children's songs. I was wondering if anybody had any experience with students this young and could give me tips or advice on what techniques would be useful for a student this young.

Thanks!
Dawson
tyler.slamkowski
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2020 11:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote