• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Yet another mouthpiece post

Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Cornet/Flügelhorn
View previous topic :: View next topic  
ChuckK

PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2020 4:49 pm    Post subject: Yet another mouthpiece post Reply with quote

Comeback player here. Back story: I have undergraduate degree with trumpet and graduate work on French Horn. I've spent the last 14 years playing electric bass in a R+B band and musical theater. With the Covid shutdown I'm getting back into brass playing by dealing with cornet. I have an Ambassador with the hope that if I can get the stuff together I'll step that up. Not looking for glory, just a seat in the back row or community band.

I was using a Stork 5C, but due to the advice from this forum I decided to go with a Denis Wick 4BW. The short shank made a difference (thank you to the collective advice here). But my range is limited to notes in the staff. Anything above that is demonstratively unacceptable. I feel a mouthpiece not quite so deep is a good move and perhaps too, one with a narrower rim. (I did spend many years on French Horn).

What advice have you? I've read alot here about Sparx, but the price tag is a little much. Would a DW 3B work? I have a bunch of shallower pieces but the tone suffers. What looks like a good move?
Thanks.
jondrowjf@gmail.com
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2020 5:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ChuckK
Since you like the short shank cornet mouthpiece, have thought about a used 4 C short shank mouthpiece?
Getzen 4 B short shank mouthpiece
Yamaha 11 e short shank mouthpiece
Vincent Bach 5 B short shank mouthpiece
ChuckK

PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2020 5:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jondrowjf@gmail.com wrote:
ChuckK