• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Ultimate TOL feeling

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> The Balanced Embouchure
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Adalon

PostPosted: Thu Nov 26, 2020 5:23 am    Post subject: Ultimate TOL feeling Reply with quote

Hi fellow trumpeters!

It's been almost two weeks since I got my own copy of BE from Ko.
I have to admit that the method is slowly doing wonders. I've been playing the trumpet for 13 years and I've been always strugling with endurance and high register.. as most of us I guess. The notes like G above the stuff come out like it's nothing after some time spent on practicing RI. It's not consistent yet and the quality of it varies but I know that this needs time since my current embouchure (after two weeks of BE) feels like total abstraction, it's totally different world when it comes to feeling of the chops and mouthpiece placement. I know that you're not supposed to totally switch embouchure at the beginning but I really don't want to go back to the old setup (middle G on old embouchure feels like 2 or 3 times harder work than G above the staff while RI setup).

However, my question is regarding TOL. It helped me to bring the lips down and place the aperture somwhere between the teeth. The feeling of it day after day starts to be more familiar. But what is the ulitmate feeling of TOL? Right now while TOLing I can feel just slight part of the top lip and some upper teeth especially going higher. The higher I go the more teeth I feel while TOLing instead of top lip. Is it someting that requires more muscle strength or am I doing something wrong? Thanks for all the answers!